Nashville LGBT Chamber of Commerce announces finalists for the 2015 Excellence in Business Awards

chamber awards graphic edit.jpg

The Nashville LGBT Chamber of Commerce will present its 2015 Excellence in Business Awards on Tuesday, April 28 from 11:00am-1:00pm at the Wildhorse Saloon. For the third consecutive year, CURB Records is presenting sponsor.

Over 70 people and organizations submitted nominations over a 10-week period. Nominees completed questionnaires describing their accomplishments over the last 12 months. Questionnaires were scored by an awards committee made up of a diverse group of LGBT Chamber members and former award nominees, finalists, and winners. Each LGBT Chamber member receives one vote for each category to add to the current scores of each finalist. Winners will be announced at the event on April 28th.

"The Excellence in Business Awards is an inspirational day for the LGBT Chamber and our community," said Lisa Howe, the LGBT Chamber Executive Director. "This unique, daytime event spotlights the LGBT and ally professional community like no other event. Attendees will share and celebrate the contributions of the finalists and winners of the awards and recognize the economic and social impact made by local business and nonprofit leaders and entrepreneurs. It is an honor just to be in the room."

Over 300 business and community leaders, allies, and LGBT-friendly businesses will convene at this high profile lunch event to celebrate and recognize the finalists and hear about the winners who were selected for their contributions to Nashville's inclusive business and nonprofit communities.

Award categories and finalists include:

Corporate Diversity

Baker Donelson
Cracker Barrel
Cummins, Inc.
Dollar General
Fifth Third Bank


Small Business Diversity

Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams
Radian Partners


Ally Award

Megan Barry, Metro Council Member, At Large
Kathy Halbrooks, President, PFLAG Nashville
Matt Lively, Cracker Barrel
Erica Rains, The Chef and I
Kim Sharp, Nissan


Leadership in the Arts Award

KB Productions
Nashville Opera Association
OZ Arts Nashville
Brian Parker, Parker Designs


Samuel L Felker Business Leader of the Year

Amy Bennett, The Bank of Nashville/Synovus Mortgage
Rosa Berger, Fifth Third Bank
David Brzozowski, Dollar General
Scott Glasgow, Classic Party Rentals
Joseph Interrante, Nashville CARES


Mark Lee Taylor Community Service Award

Greg Cason, Nissan
Marisa Richmond, Tennessee Transgender Political Coalition
David Taylor, Tribe/Play/Suzy Wong’s


Maria M Salas Entrepreneur of the Year

Phil Cobucci, BAM! Social Business
Brady Mills, Brady Mills, LLC
Bruce Pittman, Bruce Pittman, Inc.


For more information about the awards and the Chamber, or to purchase tickets and inquire about sponsorship opportunities, visit the Excellence in Business Awards page at the Chamber website.