VanReece, Ellis chosen for local Democratic Party offices


The Davidson County Democratic Party’s Executive Committee now has four members from the local GLBT community.

Nancy VanReece, committeewoman for District 4, and Ryan Ellis, committeeman for District 29, were chosen to hold seats on the committee at the party’s June 22 meeting. Both served as district captains for the Tennessee Equality Project during the 2009 effort to pass the Metro Nashville nondiscrimination ordinance expansion to include sexual orientation and gender identity as protected classes. In addition, Ellis is the incoming vice president of TEP.

The two join Shane Burkett, committeeman for District 12, and Marisa Richmond, committeewoman for District 23, on the executive committee. Burkett and Richmond were both on the ballot in last month’s Davidson County primary.