Out & About Nashville Issues Endorsements


The 2015 election cycle is shaping up to be an interesting one, and there isn’t a presidential race in sight. It isn’t even time to shake up the House of Representatives again, yet. No, this year, Nashville is home to a hot, seven-way race for mayor, and a field of city council hopefuls numbering in the low six figures. But seriously, 122 people are officially seeking forty-two metro offices.

                Based on responses by candidates to a survey O&AN sent out, along with our editorial board’s knowledge of the various candidates’ history and experience with the LGBT community, we make the following recommendations. A large segment of our July issue, which will hit stands and go online next week, details why we are recommending the candidates we chose.


Mayor: Megan Barry

Vice Mayor: David Briley


At-Large: Erin Coleman, Erica Gillmore, John Lasiter, Lonnell Matthews, and Jim Shulman (in this race we also highlight Jason Holleman, Phillip Hostettler, Bob Mendes, Buddy Baker, Adam Dread, Frank Harrison, Walter Hunt, and Sandra Moore as individuals who have made real contributions to LGBT rights in Nashville).


District 1: Jonathan Richardson




District 5: Scott Davis

District 6: Brett Withers

District 7: Anthony Davis

District 8: Nancy VanReece

District 9: NO ENDORSEMENT. NOTE: Incumbent Bill Pridemore vigorously opposed domestic partner benefits.

District 10 – Write-ins. NOTE: Doug Pardue, who is unopposed, rallied against partner benefits.

District 11 – Larry Hagar

District 12 – NO ENDORSEMENT. NOTE: Steve Glover opposed partner benefits.

District 13 – Marilyn Robinson

District 14 – Kevin Rhoten

District 15 – Jeff Syracuse

District 16 – Mike Freeman

District 17 – Paula Foster

District 18 –Burkley Allen

District 19 – Freddie O’Connell

District 20 – NO ENDORSEMENT. All candidates are affirming.


District 22 – NO ENDORSEMENT. NOTE: Unopposed Sheri Weiner stayed home for both roll call votes on domestic partner benefits.

District 23 – Mina Johnson

District 24 –Kathleen Murphy

District 25 – NO ENDORSEMENT.

District 26 – Jeremy Elrod

District 27 – NO ENDORSEMENT. NOTE: Davette Blalock abstained on partner benefits.

District 28 – Melissa Smithson

District 29—Karen Johnson

District 30 – Jason Potts

District 31 – Fabian Bedne

District 32 – NO ENDORSEMENT. Jacobia Dowell abstained twice on partner benefits, but MAY still be the best choice.

District 33 – Sam Coleman

Distrct 34 – Steve Butler

District 35 – Dave Rosenberg


For more information on the races as they shape up, check out the July issue of O&AN, and follow our coverage on the web.